Why I March…

Today I am with the women’s march in London.  Here is why I am choosing to participate, choosing to march, choosing to stand in solidarity.

I believe, above ALL else that we should be kind, that there is always someone else worse off and that we should do whatever we can to help them; whatever that looks like. If we choose to only look after ourselves we fail our own humanity.

Firstly I stand with ALL women of the USA whose civil liberties stand to be taken away under the Trump administration. I march for their right to control their own bodies, to choose to take birth control, to do go out dressed as they like and not be blamed for the actions of men when they are verbally or physically abused.

Secondly, I stand with the people of colour, immigrants, LGBTQ all over the world. I march for their right to exist without fear of prejudice or violence. I hear them when they say they are scared for their rights and scared for their lives. If you say you’re scared, I hear you; I do not say your fears are unjustified.

Lastly I march because if I do nothing, I am no better than those who are changing the rules to suit themselves. I march because to me it feels right, because I believe in #HopeNotHate and that #LoveTrumpsHate. I encourage you to join me.

“If you are neutral in situations of injustice, you have chosen the side of the oppressor.”

seamless pattern with a large group of well- dresses ladies

 

Leave a Reply

